Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Skade Award for Treble Cone Book

The International Skiing History Association has recently honoured the published history 
of Treble Cone by awarding the book the 
Skade Award. In recognising this book, the passionate efforts of a stubborn group of 
Kiwis were honoured, most especially the men who got things rolling in the late 1960s – 
Treble Cone founders Rod Aubrey, Ray Cleland, Murray Raffills, Don Ross and Sir Tim Wallis.
   The Skade Award is presented to outstanding works of regional ski history. This year, writer Matt Conway was recognised for Treble Cone (Clean Green Press), the history of the eponymous New Zealand ski resort. Awards night was at Springsboat Springs, Colarado. 
   Below are chapter openers from the book.
   The Treble Cone story is quite a saga with some wonderful twists and turns. It’s rare for what was essentially a club field to find a commercial footing without any government or corporate backing but that was the case for Treble Cone. What this amazing mountain had to offer inspired a devoted ski bum culture, shared family experiences, training visits from the likes of Hermann Maier and Bode Miller and the rapid development of Wanaka as a resort town.

Writer Matt Conway
Designer William Chen
Production Manager Gilbert van Reenen
Publisher Clean Green Press
Available from Treble Cone, bookshops in Wanaka, Queenstown and Dunedin

No comments:

Post a Comment